Regional Office for Southeast Asia and the Pacific

Making the world safer from crime, drugs and terrorism East Asia and the Pacific Map

The history of the UNODC presence in Thailand reflects the institutional changes that UNODC encountered in the last four decades.

In 1971 the development of the Crop Replacement Project required a permanent presence in Thailand, hence the first office was established. Subsequently, in 1986, the United Nations Fund for Drug Abuse Control (UNFDAC) up-graded this office to the status of Field Office, thus granting wider responsibilities.

In 1991, the United Nations International Drug Control Progamme (UNDCP) further expanded the geographical mandate of the office in Thailand, which was then renamed Regional Centre for East Asia.

In 1998, the United Nations Office for Drug Control and Crime Prevention (UN/ODCCP) expanded the mandate of the Regional Centre also across the Pacific and in 2002 the office was renamed Regional Centre for East Asia and the Pacific of the United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime (UNODC).

As of 1st January 2014, the Regional Office in Bangkok oversees UNODC activities in 29 countries and territories across Southeast Asia and the Pacific, including programmes implemented by Country Offices in Lao PDR, Myanmar and Viet Nam. Project offices are present also in Cambodia, China and Indonesia.

Currently, the activities implemented by UNODC in Southeast Asia and the Pacific contribute to the achievement of the results envisaged in the 2014-2017 Regional Programme Framework related to Transnational Organised Crime, Anti-Corruption, Terrorism Prevention, Criminal justice systems, and Drugs and Health, and Alternative Development.


Australia Australia Brunei Darrussalam Brunei Darussalam Cambodia Cambodia*
Cook Islands Cook Islands Fiji Fiji French Polynesia French Polynesia
Indonesia Indonesia Kiribati Kiribati* Lao PDR Lao PDR*
Malaysia Malaysia Marshall Islands Marshall Islands Micronesia Micronesia
Myanmar Myanmar* Nauru Nauru New Caledonia New Caledonia
New Zealand New Zealand Niue Niue Palau Palau
Papua New Guinea Papua New Guinea Philippines Philippines Samoa Samoa*
Singapore Singapore Solomon Islands Solomon Islands* Thailand Thailand
Timor Leste Timor-Leste Tonga Tonga Tuvalu Tuvalu*
Vanuatu Vanuatu* Viet Nam Viet Nam  

* UN Least Developed Countries