Bureau and Extended Bureau 

In order to function effectively, the Commission needs to organize and prepare its work carefully and in advance. Such tasks are carried out by the Bureau and the Extended Bureau of the Commission, which play an active role in the preparation of the regular and the inter-sessional meetings with the assistance of the Secretariat.

The Bureau of the Commission is composed of the Chairperson, three Vice-Chairpersons and one Rapporteur. At the end of its reconvened session, the Commission elects its Bureau for the next session. The Extended Bureau also includes the Chairpersons of the five regional groups, the European Union and the Group of 77 and China.

In view of the practice of rotation of offices based on regional distribution, the officers at the twenty-third session of the Commission are from the following regional groups: Chairperson from the Eastern European Group; the three Vice-Chairpersons from the Latin America and the Caribbean Group (GRULAC),  Western European and Other States (WEOG), Asia-Pacific Group, and the rapporteur from the African Group.


Ambassador Vladimír Galuška is the Permanent Representative of the Czech Republic to the United Nations Office at Vienna and Chair of the 23 rd session of the Commission on Crime Prevention and Criminal Justice.

Mr. Galuška was Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Czech Republic. During his career with the Ministry of Foreign Affairs he served at the Czech Embassies and Permanent Missions in Washington, the Slovak Republic and in New York, where he was Permanent Representative to the United Nations.

Mr. Galuška holds a PhD in law from Charles University in Prague, where he also served as a member of the law faculty. He is married and has two children.