MEDIA ADVISORY

 

Vienna Forum to host daily media briefings programme

 

Senior UN officials, experts, private sector leaders, NGO representatives and celebrities to announce new initiatives, communicate outcomes and profile developments

 UN.GIFT 12 February: A programme of media briefings with high-profile guests at the Vienna Forum, led by Antonio Maria Costa, Executive Director of the United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime, will take place from 12.00 - 12.30 CET each day. The briefings will take place in the Media Conference Room, located on the first floor of the Austria Centre. The schedule is as follows.

 1)         Wednesday 13 February; 12.00-12.30

The scale of the crime and the imperatives of taking action now

 

2)         Thursday 14 February,12.00-12.30

New thinking, new tools and new leadership

 

3)         Friday 15 February,12.00-12.30

The call to action: next steps in the fight against human trafficking

 The briefings will only be open to accredited media only, but all media are warmly invited to apply for accreditation at the UN.GIFT website: www.ungift.org. Informal media briefings will take place during the course of the Forum

 The Vienna Forum is bringing together 1,200 experts, legislators, law enforcement teams, business leaders, NGO representatives and trafficking victims from over 100 countries. The Forum has been convened under the auspices of the United Nations Global Initiative to Fight Human Trafficking (UN.GIFT).

  Contact details

  Media bids and enquiries

  For press enquiries, please contact:

·         Robert Watkinson; robert.watkinson@portlandpr.co.uk ; tel: +43 664 486 5297 (Austria) or     

      + 44 7984 433 486 (UK)

 

·         Hannah McCullagh; hannah.ccullagh@portlandpr.co.uk ; tel: +43 664 2772485 (Austria) or +44 7739 147841 (UK)

 

For broadcast enquiries, please contact:

·         Faridoun Hemani; fhemani@linxproductions.com; tel: + 43 664 7626411 (Austria) or +44 7748 648 355

 

Press and broadcast bids can also be directed to press@ungift.org

 

 

Information officers

 

United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime

Walter Kemp; walter.kemp@unodc.org ; tel: + 43 1 260 605629

 

International Labour Organization

Houtan Homayounpour; g12dcomm@ilo.org ; tel: + 41 79 593 1558

 

International Organization for Migration

Chris Lom; clom@iom.int ; t el: + 66 819 275 215 / + 43 650 261 8782 (from 11 th Feb)

 

Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights

Yvon Edoumou; yedoumou@ohchr.org; tel: + 41 788 263 552

 

Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe

Blanca Tapia; blanca.tapia@osce.org; tel: + 43 664 859 08 04

 

United Nations Children's Fund

Geoff Keele; gkeele@unicef.org ; tel: +1 212 326 7583          

 

 

[close]
All Multimedia