The Commission is composed of 40 Member States elected by the Economic and Social Council, with the following distribution of seats among the regional groups: 

(a) Twelve for African States;

(b) Nine for Asian States;

(c) Eight for Latin American and Caribbean States;

(d) Four for Eastern European States;

(e) Seven for Western European and other States.

Of the 20 Member States elected in 2012, four come from African States, five from Asia-Pacific States, two from Eastern European States, five from Latin American and Caribbean States, and four from Western European and other States. The term of office for Commission Members is three years.

Fact sheet on elections and membership

Membership as of 1 January 2019