Banner of CCPCJ: Commission on Crime Prevention and Criminal Justice, the principle policymaking body of the United Nations in the field of crime prevention and criminal justice

Member States of the CCPCJ

The Commission is composed of 40 Member States elected by the Economic and Social Council, with the following distribution of seats among the regional groups: 

(a) Twelve for African States;

(b) Nine for Asian States;

(c) Eight for Latin American and Caribbean States;

(d) Four for Eastern European States;

(e) Seven for Western European and other States.

The term of office for Commission Members is three years.

CCPCJ Bureau and Extended Bureau

In order to function effectively, the Commission needs to organize and prepare its work carefully and in advance. Such tasks are carried out by the Bureau and the Extended Bureau of the Commission, which play an active role in the preparation of the regular and the inter-sessional meetings with the assistance of the Secretariat.

The Bureau of the Commission is composed of the Chairperson, three Vice-Chairpersons and one Rapporteur. At the end of its reconvened session, the Commission elects its Bureau for the next session. The Extended Bureau also includes the Chairpersons of the five regional groups, the European Union and the Group of 77 and China.

Bureau of the CCPCJ at its 29th session


H.E. Mr. Jose Antonio Marcondes De Carvalho of Brazil (Group of Latin American and Caribbean States)

1st Vice-Chair

vacant (Group of Western European and other States)

2nd Vice-Chair

H.E. Ms. Khojesta Fana Ebrahimkhel of Afghanistan (Group of Asia-Pacific States) 

3rd Vice-Chair

vacant (Group of African States)


Mr. Ivan Gospodinov (Group of Eastern European States)

Chair of the 29th session of the CCPCJ

A diplomat since 1976, Jose Antonio Marcondes de Carvalho graduated in Law. Since the beginning of his career, he specialized in regional and economic international negotiations.

During eight years he was the Head of the Regional Integration Department of the Brazilian Ministry of Foreign Affairs. He worked in the Brazilian Embassies of Washington and Havana and in the Brazilian Mission to the UN in New York. He also served as Chief of the Brazilian Representation to FAO and as Brazil's Ambassador to Venezuela.

He was Undersecretary for Environment, Energy and Science and Technology in the Brazilian Ministry for Foreign Affairs and Brazil's chief negotiator for climate change.

Since November 2018, he is the Ambassador of Brazil to Austria and the Permanent Representative of Brazil to the International Organizations in Vienna.

A middle-aged man in formal suit with grey hair, a pair of glasses and a beard, a map of the world in the background.