Partnership with International, Regional and Sub-Regional Organizations

Where possible, activities draw on existing UNODC in-house expertise, such as that in Anti-Money Laundering, Organized Crime and Corruption, as well as in the Justice Section and Legal Advisory Section. The Terrorism Prevention Branch (TPB)  pays special attention to maximizing the impact of its work through operational partnerships and to avoiding duplication of efforts. Technical assistance activities are undertaken in close partnership and cooperation with numerous international, regional and sub-regional organizations.

Partnership with International Organizations

The Branch works with many international partners:

The Commonwealth Secretariat, The Global Counter-Terrorism Task Force (GCTF), The Financial Action Task Force on Money Laundering (FATF), The International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA), The Preparatory Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear Test Ban Treaty Organization, The International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO), The International Monetary Fund (IMF), The International Maritime Organization (IMO), The International Criminal Police Organization (INTERPOL), The International Organization for Migration (IOM), The Organization of the Islamic Cooperation (OIC), The Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights (OHCHR), The Office of Legal Affairs of the Secretariat (OLA), The Organization for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW) and the World Bank, The North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO), The International Organization of the Francophonie, The International Development Law Organization (IDLO).

Partnership with Regional and Sub-regional Organizations

TPB also works with a large number of regional and sub-regional partners, such as:

The African Union (AU), The Southeast Asia Regional Center for Counter Terrorism (SEARCCT), The Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN), The International Law Enforcement Academy (ILEA-Bangkok), The Jakarta Centre for Law Enforcement Cooperation (JCLEC), The Central African Economic and Monetary Community, The Intergovernmental Authority on Development's Capacity-Building Programme against Terrorism (IGAD/ICPAT), The East African Community (EAC), The Indian Ocean Commission (IOC), The Pacific Island Forum Secretariat (PIFS), The Eastern and Southern Africa Anti-Money Laundering Group (ESAAMLG), The Organization of American States Inter-American Committee Against Terrorism (OAS/CICTE) and Inter-American Drug Abuse Control Commission (OAS/CICAD) The South American Financial Action Task Force (GAFISUD), The Caribbean Community (CARICOM), The Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS), The Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO), The Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa, The Cooperation Council for the Arab States of the Gulf (GCC), The Council of Europe (CoE), The Economic Community of Central African States, The Economic Community Of West African States (ECOWAS), The European Union including Eurojust, The League of Arab States (LAS), The Organization of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS), The Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE), The Naif Arab University for Security Sciences (NAUSS), The Arab Maghreb Union (AMU), The Southern African Development Community (SADC), The Association of Regional Magistrates in Southern Africa (ARMSA), El Sistema de la Integración Centroamericana (SICA), African Centre for the Study and Research on Terrorism (ACSRT), The West African Economic and Monetary Union, The Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa.