skip to the main content area of this page

December 2016 – World Health Organization: Expert Committee on Drug Dependence recommends 10 NPS for scheduling

VIENNA, Austria – December 2016: At the reconvened fifty-ninth session of the Commission on Narcotic Drugs (CND) from 30 November to 2 December 2016, the World Health Organization (WHO) announced the scheduling recommendations on new psychoactive substances reviewed at the 38th meeting of the WHO Expert Committee on Drug Dependence (ECDD) held in Geneva from 14 to 18 November 2016. In total, 10 new psychoactive substances were critically reviewed by the ECDD and recommended for scheduling:

Single Convention on Narcotic Drugs of 1961, as amended by the 1972 Protocol:

  1. U-47700 - Schedule I
  2. Butyrfentanyl- Schedule I

Convention on Psychotropic Substances of 1971:

  1. 4-Methylethcathinone (4-MEC) - Schedule II
  2. Ethylone - Schedule II
  3. Pentedrone (α-Methylaminovalerophenone) - Schedule II
  4. Ethylphenidate (EPH) - Schedule II
  5. Methiopropamine (MPA) - Schedule II
  6. MDMB-CHMICA - Schedule II
  7. 5F-APINACA (5F-AKB-48) - Schedule II
  8. XLR-11 - Schedule II

In addition, the WHO recommended 3-Methylmethcathinone (3-methyl-N-methylcathinone; 3-MMC) for critical review and recommended JWH-073 for surveillance.

For more information, please see:

A summary in the Extract from the Report of the 38th Expert Committee on Drug Dependence, convened from 14 to 18 November 2016, at WHO headquarters in Geneva

Detailed information on the thirty-eighth meeting, substance evaluation and previous committees of the WHO ECDD-

go back