Bureau and extended Bureau

In order to function effectively, the Open-ended Intergovernmental Expert Group Meeting (IEG) on Cybercrime needs to organize and prepare its work carefully and in advance. Such tasks are carried out by the Bureau and the extended Bureau of the Open-ended Intergovernmental Expert Group Meeting on Cybercrime. At its 1st meeting on 17 January 2011 the expert group elected its Bureau members. Pursuant to resolution 22/7, in 2016 the Secretariat assisted Member States in reconvening the Bureau of the Expert Group, in accordance with the rules of procedure of the functional commissions of the Economic and Social Council.

The Bureau of the IEG on Cybercrime is composed of the Chairperson, three Vice-Chairpersons and one Rapporteur. The extended Bureau also includes the Chairpersons of the Regional Groups, the Group of 77 and the European Union, as well the Russian Federation and the United States of America based on a continuing special invitation by the extended Bureau approved on 13 September 2012. 

Composition of the Bureau

Bureau of the IEG on Cybercrime

Chair (African Group)

Vice-Chair (GRULAC)

Vice-Chair (Asia Pacific Group)

Vice-Chair (Eastern European Group)

Rapporteur (WEOG)




Advocate Doctor Mashabane (South Africa)

Mr. André João Rypl (Brazil)

Mr. Bin Hu (China)

Chair of the Eastern European Group (Rotating presidency)

Mr. Erik Planken (Netherlands)