Banner of CND: United Nations Commission on Narcotic Drugs, policymaking body of the United Nations system with prime responsibility for drug-related matters.

Member States of the CND

The Economic and Social Council, in its resolution 1991/49, enlarged the membership of the Commission from 40 to 53 members, with the following distribution of seats among the regional groups:

(a) Eleven for African States;

(b) Eleven for Asian States;

(c) Ten for Latin American and Caribbean States;

(d) Six for Eastern European States;

(e) Fourteen for Western European and other States;

(f) One seat to rotate between the Asian, and the Latin American and Caribbean States every four years.

In accordance with Council resolution 845 (XXXII), and 1147 (XLI), members are elected (a) from among the States Members of the United Nations and members of the specialized agencies and the Parties to the Single Convention on Narcotic Drugs, 1961, (b) with due regard to the adequate representation of countries that are important producers of opium or coca leaves, of countries that are important in the field of the manufacture of narcotic drugs, and of countries in which drug addiction or the illicit traffic in narcotic drugs constitutes an important problem and (c) taking into account the principle of equitable geographical distribution.

CND Bureau and Extended Bureau

In order to function effectively, the Commission needs to organize and prepare its work carefully and in advance. Such tasks are carried out by the Bureau and the Extended Bureau of the Commission, which play an active role in the preparation of the regular and the inter-sessional meetings with the assistance of the Secretariat.

The Bureau of the Commission is composed of the Chairperson, three Vice-Chairpersons and one Rapporteur. At the end of its reconvened session, the Commission elects its Bureau for the next session. The Extended Bureau also includes the Chairpersons of the five regional groups, the European Union and the Group of 77 and China.

Bureau of the CND at its 64th session


H.E. Ms. Dominika Anna Krois of Poland (Group of Eastern European States)

1st Vice-Chair

H.E. Mr. Wolfgang Amadeus Bruelhart (Group of Western European and Other States)

2nd Vice-Chair

H.E. Mr. Miguel Camilo Ruiz Blanco of Colombia (Group of Latin American and Caribbean States)

3rd Vice-Chair

Mr. Bukar Hamman of Nigeria (Group of African States)


Ms. Begaiym Nurlan of Kyrgyzstan (Group of Asia-Pacific States)

Chair of the 64th session of the CND

Ambassador Dominika Krois serves currently as Permanent Representative of Poland to the United Nations Office and the International Organisations in Vienna.

Prior to this, she coordinated OSCE affairs in the European External Action Service (2015-2019), represented the EU in the UN Office and other International Organisations in Vienna (2011–2015) and served as Vice President of the Conferences of the Parties to the UN Crime and Corruption Conventions and as UN expert on corruption (2006–2011).

Earlier in her career, she gained experience with the EU integration process, legal affairs, and bilateral diplomacy.

Dr Krois holds a law degree, and has graduated from the Jagiellonian University in Cracow; her doctoral thesis focused on international criminal law.

A middle aged woman with dark, long hair sitting in front of a laptop, smiling at the screen, papers in her hand, in the background from left to right a NATO flag, a Polish flag and an EU flag.