This teaching guide is a resource for lecturers   




This Teaching Guide  and the associated University Modules on Integrity and Ethics  were developed by the United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime (UNODC) under its Education for Justice (E4J) initiative and in line with its Global Programme for the Implementation of the Doha Declaration.

UNODC wishes to thank Mr. Daniel Malan of the University of Stellenbosch Business School for his leading role in drafting this Guide and the associated Modules. UNODC would furthermore like to thank Mr. James Lang of the Assumption College Teaching Excellence Centre and Ms. Limor Zer-Gutman of the College of Management School of Law for their contributions to this Guide and the associated Modules. UNODC also thanks the following experts for their substantive contribution to developing the Modules (in alphabetical order): Mr. Thomas Cooper (Department of Visual and Media Arts, Emerson College), Mr. Carlos Desmet (Louvain School of Management, Catholic University Louvain), Mr. Nicholas Epley (Booth School of Business, University of Chicago), Ms. Marianna Fotaki (Warwick Business School, University of Warwick), Ms. Mary Gentile (Darden School of Business, University of Virginia), Mr. Anthony Lang (School of International Relations, University of St. Andrews), Ms. Abiola Olukemi Ogunyemi (Lagos Business School, Pan-Atlantic University), Ms. Catherine Ordway (School of Law, Melbourne University), Ms. Katalin Pallai (National University for Public Service in Hungary), Mr. Thomas H. Speedy Rice (School of Law, Washington and Lee University), Mr. Pedro Tabensky (Department of Philosophy, Rhodes University), Ms. Milena Valeva (Coburg University of Applied Sciences), Ms. Helena Whalen-Bridge (Faculty of Law, National University of Singapore), Ms. Limor Zer-Gutman (School of Law, College of Management Academic Studies), Mr. Zucheng Zhou (Antai College of Economics and Management, Shanghai Jiao Tong University).

UNODC furthermore acknowledges with profound gratitude those who have supported the development of the Modules by reviewing early drafts and participating in the UNODC Expert Group Meetings in November 2017 and April 2018 (in alphabetical order): Mr. Essam Al-Rubaian (College of Business Administration, Kuwait University), Mr. Jay Albanese (Virginia Commonwealth University, Wilder School of Government and Public Affairs), Ms. Rosemary Armao (Organized Crime and Corruption Reporting Project), Ms. Inayet Aydın (Education Department, Ankara University), Mr. Max Bazerman (Harvard Business School, Harvard University), Ms. Johanna Bond (Law School, Washington and Lee University), Ms. Roxana Bratu (School of Slavonic and East European Studies, University College London), Mr. Jeremy Cooper (Kent Law School, University of Kent), Ms. Ligia Maura Costa (School of Business Administration of São Paulo), Ms. Martine Durocher (OSCE), Ms. Jane Ellis (International Bar Association), Mr. Blair Glencorse (Accountability Lab), Ms. Ellen Goldberg (independent expert on integrity education), Mr. Gonzalo Guzman (GlaxoSmithKline), Ms. Donhatai Harris (Department of Economics, University of Oxford), Mr. Max Kaiser (Mexican Institute for Competitiveness), Mr. Ioannis Karkalis (Academy of Transparency and Human Rights, EPLO), Ms. Sirilaksana Khoman (Faculty of Economics, Thammasat University and Thailand's National Anti-Corruption Commission), Mr. Nikolas Kirby (Blavatnik School of Government, University of Oxford), Mr. Tim Kuhner (Faculty of Law, University of Auckland), Mr. Florian Lair (Alliance for Integrity, GIZ), Mr. David Luban (Georgetown Law School, Georgetown University), Mr. Richard Lucas (College of Engineering and Computer Science, Australian National University), Ms. Amna Mahmood (Department of Politics and International Relations, International Islamic University), Mr. Mike McNamee (Research Institute of Ethics and Law, Swansea University), Mr. Nceku Nyathi (Faculty of Business and Law, De Montfort University), Ms. Bonnie Palifka (Department of Economics, Monterrey Institute of Technology and Higher Education), Ms. Rocio Paniagua (International Bar Association), Ms. Ivelina Petkova (Department of Financial Control, University of National and World Economy), Mr. Haydar Badawi Sadig (Mass Communication Department, Qatar University), Ms. Marian Salema (UNODC), Ms. Melinda Katherine Sheild (School of Law, Washington and Lee University), Ms. Ruth Steinholtz (AretéWork LLP), Mr. Davide Torsello (Business School, Central European University), Mr. Luma Upolu Vaai (Department of Theology and Ethics, Pacific Theological College), Mr. Herman Wasserman (Media Department, University of Cape Town), Mr. William Waters (College of Health Science, Universidad San Francisco de Quito), Ms. Hollie Webb (School of Law, Washington and Lee University), Ms. Lidra Zegali (NATO), Mr. Dimitris Ziouvas (Law School, University of Sussex).

UNODC also acknowledges the contributions of the following UNODC staff, who were responsible for developing this Guide and the associated Modules: Ms. Sigall Horovitz, Ms. Candice Welsch, Ms. Julia Pilgrim, Ms. Bianca Kopp. The following UNODC staff and personnel also made valuable contributions: Ms. Jenna Dawson-Faber, Ms. Cornelia Koertl, Mr. Alex Petkov, Mr. Oliver Stolpe, Mr. Kevin Town, Ms. Constanze von Söhnen, Mr. Neil Walsh, Ms. Yujing Yue.

UNODC wishes to express its gratitude to the Government of the State of Qatar for its generosity in providing funding for the development of this Teaching Guide and the associated University Modules on Integrity and Ethics. It furthermore thanks the European Public Law Organization (EPLO) for hosting and co-facilitating the Expert Group Meetings dedicated to reviewing and validating the Module, in November 2017 and in April 2018. UNODC also thanks the Centre for the Study of African Economies (CSAE) at the University of Oxford for hosting and co-funding an Expert Workshop for University Lecturers in August 2018, which included discussions that contributed to the finalization of this Teaching Guide.


Back to top